tipped matchking vs matchking

Sierra 195 gr. Result: Poor accuracy with many flyers was obtained in this platform; 2.5 to 3” groups at 100 yards was the best I could obtain. Sierra Tipped Matchking ?

In January 2015, Sierra introduced a .30 Caliber/7.62MM (.308) 175 Grain HPBT Tipped MatchKing (TMK) to expand its offerings to F-Class shooters and tactical match shooters..

I always found the 168 grain Sierra hpbt matchking to rock when we did long range with M1s. I am relatively new to loading, I have a .308 and to get started and to be easy, I duplicated the 168gr federal gold medal match ammo with the 168gr Sierra MK bullets, which is 42.8gr of IMR 4064. Despite the longer design of the TMK, higher pressures/velocities were not an issue with Varget working up to the same charge weights as used in the SMK load. it was all I had, and I would have been hungry for venison for some time without them. The majority of the groups were .4-.55" outside to outside, 5 shot groups. Tipped vs hollow point for match bullets?

I need your input on the Sierra 308 win 168 gr TMK (Tipped MatchKing) bullet as I am very impressed by its advertized BC of .535 @ 2050 fps and above as listed on Sierra's website. Following Sierra’s introduction of Tipped MatchKing (TMK) bullets, Bryan Litz of Applied Ballistics LLC has received many requests to determine the Ballistic Coefficient (BC) of these bullets through testing. That's out of a 20"HBAR with a 1:7 twist.

I want to run some load development with them in my 18" barrel, 1/8 twist AR15.

Sure, its well known about the 7mm's long range BC advantage.

These bullets have very thin jackets drawn to an exacting concentricity standard of 0.0003 in maximum variation, and their weight is held to within ± 0.3 grain.
Still no pressure signs. Even though I tend to believe the Sierra bullets are better I shot my best 100 yard group with the Hornady bullets.